Resolutions – Let’s toast!

So this is possibly one of the more personal posts you’ll see on this blog, but it will circle back to beer, I promise!  I’ve had a seriously intense year, between personal crises, moving, changing jobs, and wrecking the Gexx-mobile in the middle of all of that.  I am so glad that I met amazing people on this journey, like Bear.

This year, I want to get my life to a point where I don’t feel as frenetic, powerless, and stressed like I spent this last year.  In my new (albeit temporary) home, I’ve gained quite a few friends, thanks to home-brewing.  It makes for an engaging introductory conversation topic, and other home-brewers love finding their own folk.  Also, as I’m trying to rebuild my career and it is stressing me the heck out, I don’t really like to talk about it, so “I brew my own beer” is an appropriate distraction and conversation topic change.  Also, home-brewing and exploring local breweries has evolved into a wonderful side project where I can build a new social media community and unwind from my other attempt at professional growth.

This leads up to that this next year, I want to strengthen these Good Things that I have started, and I want to develop my interests and skills.

1) A person once posted on Facebook (the modern salon) “A friend is someone who will always be there for you, no excuses, no lies, and no broken promises.”  I strive to be that kind of friend, and I only want to spend that time and effort on someone else who will do the same.  I’ve found myself a community full of those types of people, but I am tired of discovering that I still spend too much time on those who are not healthy to be around. This year I resolve to not exhaust myself on toxic people and to surround myself with awesome people.

2) Until we started this blog, the only writing I did this last year was extremely technical “Tab A into slot B” and “Subject A experienced X results” type stuff.  I notice that my casual prose writing here is far from polished and often quite painful in its plodding dryness and proclivity towards [please don’t faint] passive voice.  Some of the Music To Quaff By entries are horrendously awkward, but please bear with me.  This year I resolve to make my writing more lively and graceful through practice on this blog.

3) Among beer drinkers, I’ve found a most interesting large population of runners.  This has motivated me to get out and get back to running.  Bear and I have started to attend local Hashing runs, and we’ve met some interesting people.  This year, I resolve to run/walk/hike/bike/locamote a total of 500 miles.

4) I get stressed out by possessions.  I think of how they need upkeep, how will I find the time, what resources were used in making them, whether they’re sustainable, how am I going to move them, and who will get upset if I get rid of them.  One of the easiest ways to stress me out is to give me a gift that isn’t something I can eat/drink or mentioned that I needed/wanted, and even then I sometimes panic.  Since moving, I decided to experiment with only unpacking what I deemed were necessities and seeing how this effected my quality of life.  I’ve only unpacked a very select set of kitchen gear, clothes, about 20 books, stereo/cds, computer, and my musical instruments.  98% of my books, and innumerable other… things … have remained packed and I haven’t missed them.  This year, I resolve that the next time I move will be with a *small* Uhaul truck, and I will get rid of all the extraneous possessions that prevent that.

5) Two things that I didn’t bring with me and do miss are a couch and brewing equipment.  I didn’t have space for the couch and I couldn’t retrieve my brew-gear from the person who had it before I moved.  This year I resolve to try to reacquire both of those *things* … and still succeed at resolution #4.

6) Along with writing, I have one final ::ahem:: report to finish writing that I have been stressing over.  This thing needs to get done.  So I resolve that I’ll work a little on this report each day and get the danged thing done.

7) The traditional money one. I’ll spare you the details.

9) I have two all-grain recipes that I have been sitting on for the last year but haven’t been able to make.  One is a saison and the other is a clone.  I resolve to brew both of these beer recipes by the end of the year.

10) I resolve to continue to drink good beer!

So thanks to all of our readers for sticking with us, and we hope to continue to impress you with the next year!

Posted on December 30, 2011, in life of the blogger. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

